100 Best Posters 17



Kornschütte, Kornmarkt 3




29.9.18 / 1pm


Opening with Daniel Furrer (President of the local government, Lucerne) and Michael Kryenbühl (jury member, Lucerne)

The exhibition 100 Best Posters shows the most exciting posters from Germany, Austria and Switzerland. The winners have been selected from a competition and represent the creative exploration of the poster as a medium and the versatile work of the graphic scene from German-speaking countries.

The 100 Best Posters of the Year competition was launched in the 1960s. The aim was – and still is – to present and promote posters from German-speaking countries. Entries may be submitted from all areas; commissioned works, student projects, product advertisements, cultural posters or political and socially critical designs. The winning posters will be presented – without ranking – in a travelling exhibition and a yearbook.

The 100 best entries are selected by a jury of renowned graphic designers and poster theorists. This year's jury consisted of Peter Bankov (Prague), Albert Exergian (Vienna), Michael Kryenbühl (Bern / Lucerne), Jens Müller (Düsseldorf) and Daniel Wiesmann (Berlin). From 2293 submissions by 657 designers, the jury received 1132 posters from 384 submitters after an online pre-selection, including 212 from Germany, 136 from Switzerland and 36 from Austria.

The competition and the touring exhibition have established themselves as a well-known institution and are appreciated by designers and studios as well as by students and advertising agencies.

In addition to Lucerne, this year the 100 best posters will be also shown in various places throughout Switzerland: La Chaux-de-Fonds, Lausanne, Zurich and Geneva. Find the exact schedule here.

Weltformat App

The marked exhibits in the exhibition have additional animated versions, which are visible with the Weltformat app. Please make sure that you have enough battery. Get the Weltformat festival app here.

Non-iPhone-users can see the moving posters using the Artivive app.


Peter Bankov (Prag), Albert Exergian (Wien), Michael Kryenbühl (Luzern), Jens Müller (Düsseldorf) and Daniel Wiesmann (Berlin)


100 beste Plakate e.V.