Exhibitions

Identity

An Installation by Dexter Sinister

The audiovisual installation Identity by Dexter Sinister examines how the corporate identities of London’s Tate, the Museum of Modern Art in New York and the Centre Georges Pompidou in Paris have changed. It explores the branding and positioning of art institutions as they become increasingly aware of their own image.

Location

Sic! Elephanthouse, Neustadtstrasse 14

Opening

Sat 9.10.21 / 4.30pm with Stuart Bailey (Dexter Sinister)

Opening hours

noon – 6pm

Present Yourself!

This year’s Weltformat Graphic Design Festival is handing over the design of its main poster to seven international design studios as an exploratory space for self-promotion. The seven posters will be on display throughout Switzerland and will announce this year’s theme and its designed identity. How do contemporary graphic designers choose to represent themselves? How is their identity reflected in the themes they select and the formal design decisions they make? Do the final designs relate back to the work they design for their clients?

Location

Prior to the festival: Poster stands throughout Switzerland

During the festival: Festival center, Rössligasse 12

Opening

Sat 9.10.21 / 2.30pm

Opening hours

noon – 6pm

In Conversation With the Directors of Kunsthalle Basel and Kunsthalle Zürich

This exhibition presents two video interviews in which Elena Filipovic, curator at Kunsthalle Basel, and Daniel Baumann, curator at Kunsthalle Zürich, reflect on their different curatorial approaches to visual identity. They discuss how the communication strategies of their houses seek to impact the perceptions of different audiences, and they elaborate on strategies that involve designers and artists. Their insights are shared alternately, as a dialog, on two opposing screens. This intimate set up is shielded from outside view by a mounted selection of exhibition posters from both houses.

Location

Kunsthalle, Löwenplatz 11

Opening

Sat 9.10.21 / 1.30pm

Opening hours

noon – 6pm

Event

Lecture by Dan Solbach (designer of the visual identity of Kunsthalle Zürich) Tue, 12.10.21 / 6.15pm at the festival center

We, Ourselves, and Us

This exhibition gathers material submitted in response to an open call that invited graphic designers from all over the world to send in self-promotional print matter. The collection brings together more than 250 objects — ranging from business cards and stickers to refreshment wipes — and can be explored by visitors visually and tactually. In the context of the increasingly precarious working conditions in the design world, which are fuelled by pricing pressures, ever-growing competition, and a shift towards virtual representation, these material objects testify to how designers expertly and inventively present their own professional identities.

Location

Festivalzentrum, Rössligasse 12

Opening

Sat 10.10.21 / 3pm

Opening hours

noon – 6pm

Ausstellungen

Identity

Eine Installation von Dexter Sinister

Die audiovisuelle Installation Identity von Dexter Sinister untersucht, wie sich die Corporate Identities der Londoner Tate, des Museum of Modern Art in New York und des Centre Georges Pompidou in Paris entwickelt haben. Die Arbeit analysiert das Branding und die Positionierung von Kunstinstitutionen, die sich zunehmend ihrer eigenen Ausstrahlung bewusst werden.

Ort

Sic! Elephanthouse, Neustadtstrasse 14

Vernissage

Sa 9.10.21 / 16.30 Uhr mit Stuart Bailey (Dexter Sinister)

Öffnungszeiten

12 – 18 Uhr

Present Yourself!

Die Gestaltung der Plakate des diesjährigen Weltformat Graphic Design Festivals wurde an sieben internationale Designstudios mit dem Auftrag übergeben, die Werbeflächen zur Erkundung professioneller Selbstdarstellung zu nutzen. Die sieben Plakate werden in der ganzen Schweiz zu sehen sein und stellen das Thema des Festivals und dessen gestaltete Identität vor. Wie gehen zeitgenössische Designschaffende berufliche Selbstdarstellung an? Wie widerspiegelt die Wahl thematischer und formaler Designelement ihre Identität? In welchem Verhältnis steht professionelle Selbstrepräsentation mit den Designs, die sie an ihr Klientel liefern?

Ort

Vor dem Festival: Plakatständer in der ganzen Schweiz

Während dem Festival: Festivalzentrum, Rössligasse 12

Vernissage

Sa 9.10.21 / 14.30 Uhr

Öffnungszeiten

12 – 18 Uhr

In Conversation With the Directors of Kunsthalle Basel and Kunsthalle Zürich

Die Ausstellung besteht aus zwei aufgezeichneten Gesprächen, in denen Elena Filipovic, Kuratorin der Kunsthalle Basel, und Daniel Baumann, Kurator der Kunsthalle Zürich, sich über ihre Auffassung von visueller Identität austauschen. Sie sprechen über die Kommunikationsstrategien ihrer Institutionen, wie diese die Wahrnehmung verschiedener Publika mitformen soll, und sie reflektieren über Strategien, die verschiedene Design- und Kunstschaffende involvieren. Ihre Perspektiven treffen sich in einem visuellen Dialog über zwei sich gegenüberstehende Bildschirme. Dieses intime Setting ist verdeckt durch eine Auswahl an Ausstellungsplakaten der beiden Kunsthallen.

Ort

Kunsthalle, Löwenplatz 11

Vernissage

Sa 9.10.21 / 13.30 Uhr

Öffnungszeiten

12 – 18 Uhr

Veranstaltung

Vortrag von Dan Solbach (Designer visuelle Identität Kunsthalle Zürich) Di 12.10.21 / 18.15 Uhr im Festivalzentrum

We, Ourselves, and Us

Die Ausstellung zeigt eine Auswahl der Einsendungen, die wir im Rahmen einer öffentlichen Ausschreibung für Beispiele der beruflichen Selbstdarstellung von Designschaffenden in gedruckter Form erhalten haben. Sie besteht aus mehr als 250 Objekten und umfasst herkömmliche Formate wie Visitenkarten und Stickers, aber auch ausgefallenere Objekte wie Feuchttücher. Die Ausstellungsstücke können dabei nicht nur gesehen, sondern auch berührt, gefasst und begriffen werden. In Anbetracht der zunehmend labilen Arbeitsbedingungen für selbstständige Designschaffende, die sich durch kompetitive Lohnerosion, zunehmender Konkurrenz und der Digitalisierung von Selbstrepräsentation auszeichnen, bilden die Objekte ein Archiv der Innovationsfähigkeit, mit der Designschaffende professionelle Selbstdarstellung angehen.

Ort

Festivalzentrum, Rössligasse 12

Vernissage

Sa 10.10.21 / 15 Uhr

Öffnungszeiten

12 – 18 Uhr