Symposium

Location

Neubad Pool, Bireggstrasse 36

Date

Sun 27.9.20 / 10am to 5pm

In this year's symposium, international designers will discuss the festival theme Not (Yet) Cancelled in two thematic blocks and contextualise their own projects and research interests.

Adapt and Extend: New Modes of Design

The panel Adapt and Extend: New Modes of Design examines how approaches, methods and techniques in design have changed in the face of the current circumstances. The ongoing crisis calls for unconventional solutions. What measures should designers take to design for new needs? What far-reaching effects do the current challenges have on their practice? What lasting consequences related to the profession of designers will there be due to the recent events? International guests will discuss these and further questions.

Lineup

Adeline Mollard (Zurich) and Urs Lehni (Zurich)

Florian Jakober (Zurich)

Loraine Furter (Brussels)

Dealing with Power: Design and Systemic Change 

The panel Dealing with Power: Design and Systemic Change will address the need for systematic change in design and beyond. Designers have been dealing with issues that bring about sustainable social change – and they did even before recent events. What place and role should design take in our society? Should designers set an example with their work or even make political statements? What (positive) contribution can design make in our society?

Lineup

Elsa Westreicher (Berlin) and Juan Pablo Garciá Sossa (Berlin)

Madeleine Morley (Berlin)

Ruben Pater (Amsterdam)

Due to the current corona safety measures the symposium will take place at Neubad but will also be live streamed online on Zoom. Some of the guests cannot be present on site and will therefore participate digitally.

Notes on corona protection measures

The number of seats is limited. To avoid waiting times, we kindly ask you to enter your contact details in advance via https://checkin.kulturluzern.ch/. With your personal QR code we can check you in quickly and easily anywhere.

Tickets

Tickets are available at Neubad or online (limited number of seats). Tickets for the livestream are available online.

Organisation / Moderation

Miriam Koban (designer and design researcher, Zurich) and Jonas Berthod (designer, design researcher and lecturer, London)

Partner

Syndicom – Gewerkschaft Medien und Kommunikation

Symposium

Ort

Neubad Pool, Bireggstrasse 36

Datum

So 27.9.20 / 10.00 bis 17.00 Uhr

Im Rahmen des diesjährigen Symposiums werden internationale GestalterInnen in zwei thematischen Blöcken das Festivalthema Not (Yet) Cancelled diskutieren und ihre eigenen Projekte und Forschungsinteressen in Bezug dazu stellen.

Adapt and Extend: New Modes of Design

Das Panel Adapt and Extend: New Modes of Design untersucht die Art und Weise wie sich Methoden, Herangehensweisen und Verfahren in der Gestaltung angesichts der aktuellen einschneidenden Ereignisse verändert haben. Die anhaltende Krise verlangt nach unkonventionellen Lösungen. Welche konkreten Massnahmen sollen DesignerInnen entwickeln, um für neue Bedürfnisse zu gestalten? Welche weitreichenden Auswirkungen haben die aktuellen Herausforderungen auf die Praxis von GrafikerInnen? Wie werden die Geschehnisse das Berufsfeld nachhaltig beeinflussen? Diesen und weiteren Fragen gehen internationale Gäste auf den Grund.

Gäste

Adeline Mollard (Zürich) und Urs Lehni (Zürich)

Florian Jakober (Zürich)

Loraine Furter (Brüssel)

Dealing with Power: Design and Systemic Change 

Die Diskussionsrunde Dealing with Power: Design and Systemic Change thematisiert die Notwendigkeit eines systematischen Wandels in der Gestaltung und darüber hinaus. GestalterInnen setzen sich – und das nicht erst seit den jüngsten Ereignissen – mit Fragen auseinander, die nachhaltige gesellschaftliche Veränderungen mit sich bringen. Welchen Platz und welche Rolle soll die Gestaltung in einem grösseren System einnehmen? Sollen – oder müssen – GestalterInnen mit ihrer Arbeit ein Zeichen setzen oder gar politische Aussagen treffen? Welchen (positiven) Beitrag kann Design in unserer Gesellschaft leisten.

Gäste

Elsa Westreicher (Berlin) und Juan Pablo Garciá Sossa (Berlin)

Madeleine Morley (Berlin)

Ruben Pater (Amsterdam)

Aufgrund der aktuellen Coronaschutzbestimmungen wird das Symposium sowohl im Neubad stattfinden, als auch online über Zoom übertragen werden. Einige der Gäste können nicht vor Ort anwesend sein und werden deshalb digital teilnehmen.

Hinweise Coronaschutzmassnahmen

Die Anzahl Plätze ist limitiert. Um Wartezeiten zu vermeiden, bitten wir euch, eure Kontaktdaten im Vorfeld über https://checkin.kulturluzern.ch/ zu erfassen. Mit eurem persönlichen QR-Code können wir euch überall schnell und einfach einchecken.

Tickets

Tickets sind im Neubad oder online erhältlich (beschränkte Platzanzahl). Tickets für den Livestream sind online erhältlich.

Organisation / Moderation

Miriam Koban (Gestalterin und Designforscherin, Zürich) und Jonas Berthod (Gestalter, Designforscher und Dozent, London)

Partnerin

Syndicom – Gewerkschaft Medien und Kommunikation