Symposium

Location
Date

Sun 29.9.18 / 10am–5pm

Within the frame of the Weltformat symposium, designers will be discussing the Weltformat festival theme Tools & Rules. In three thematic blocks, they will investigate the various aspects of the topic from different perspectives.

The international speakers – including some of this year's workshop leaders – will examine the festival theme Tools & Rules in three thematic blocks: Using and Misusing Tools, Type and Techniques and Professional (R)evolutions. They will also present their own work in relation to the topics discussed. The symposium and the panel discussions are hosted by the designers and design researchers Miriam Koban and Jonas Berthod. The symposium will be held in English.

Type and Techniques

The panel Type and Techniques highlights the relationship between type design and technology. For the development of his font Ciao, Massimiliano Audretsch has combined audio signals with typography. The font is generated from the spoken word and features a variety of styles. The type designer Selina Bernet effortlessly combines tradition with contemporary design. The fonts she creates often go back to historical models, which she develops further for digital application and distribution. The design studio Dinamo, which designs and distributes fonts, talks about variable fonts and how new technologies influence the development of types. Jungmyung Lee experiments with font design and storytelling. The typefaces of the Jung Lee Type Foundry tell stories and evoke emotions among users and readers. 

10am – noon

1

Dinamo

2

Selina Bernet

3

Massimiliano Audretsch

4

Jungmyung Lee

5

Discussion

noon – 1pm

Lunch break with Otto

Using and Misusing Tools

The panel Using and Misusing Tools examines the potential of specifically developed design tools and concepts. With a critical eye, the designer Ines Cox analyses the relationship between design and technology and points out their mutual interdependence. In contrast, the designer Anja Kaiser operates in an activist environment and talks about how she incorporates topics such as feminism, gender roles and asymmetrical power structures into her work. The multidisciplinary designer Jürg Lehni leaves the creative process to his drawing robot Otto, who charts large-format images onto walls with chalk. Software developer Ted Davis presents the tool basil.js – an open source scripting library – and shows how it affects the work of designers. 

1pm – 3pm

1

Jürg Lehni

2

Ines Cox

3

Anja Kaiser

4

Ted Davis

5

Discussion

3pm – 3.30pm

Coffee break

Professional (R)evolutions

The job profile and professional environment of designers is constantly evolving. Technical innovations, design standards and socio-economic progesses have shaped the profession of graphic artists since the end of the 19th century. The thematic block Professional (R)evolutions discusses these developments with a focus on the current challenges in the context of digitalisation and new technologies.

The design duo Johnson/Kingston talks about the importance of digital tools, coding and generative design in regards to the concepts they develop. Type designer and software developer Petr van Blokland highlights challenges designers will be facing in the future and the role automated processes will play. Artist Sofia Crespo sees in technical tools such as artificial intelligence and machine learning a great promise for artistic practice as well. Her interest in bio-inspired technologies is visible in her work Neural Zoo, which she describes as «a zoological and botanical collection of nature that doesn’t exist.» Johanna Siebein of Studio Laucke Siebein talks about the implementation of their design concepts and shows which rules need to be broken in order to inspire the public to new viewing habits.

​3.30pm – 5pm

1

Johnson/Kingston

2

Petr van Blokland

3

Sofia Crespo

4

Johanna Siebein

5

Discussion



Tickets

The number of tickets is limited. Tickets are available on site or online.

Organisation / Moderation

Miriam Koban (designer and design researcher) and Jonas Berthod (designer, design researcher and lecturer, London)

Partner

Syndicom – Gewerkschaft Medien und Kommunikation

Symposium

Ort
Datum

So 29.9.18 / 10–17 Uhr

Auch dieses Jahr diskutieren GestalterInnen im Rahmen des Symposiums das Festivalthema Tools & Rules. In drei thematischen Blöcken beleuchten sie die unterschiedlichen Aspekte des Themas aus verschiedenen Perspektiven.

Die internationalen RednerInnen – darunter auch einige der diesjährigen WorkshopleiterInnen – beleuchten das Festivalthema Tools & Rules in drei thematischen Blöcken: Using and Misusing Tools, Type and Techniques und Professional (R)evolutions. Dabei stellen sie auch ihre eigene Arbeit in Bezug zu den Inhalten. Moderiert werden das Symposium und die Diskussionsrunden von den GestalterInnen und DesignforscherInnen Miriam Koban (Zürich) und Jonas Berthod (London).

Type and Techniques

Die Diskussionsrunde Type and Techniques beleuchtet die intensive Beziehung zwischen Schriftgestaltung und Technologie. In seinem Font Ciao kombiniert Massimiliano Audretsch Audiosignale mit Typografie. Die Schrift generiert sich aus dem gesprochenen Wort und weist dabei eine Vielzahl von Schnitten und Stilen auf. Die Schriftgestalterin Selina Bernet verbindet mühelos Tradition mit zeitgenössischem Design. Die von ihr gestalteten Schriften gehen oft auf historische Vorlagen zurück, die sie zur digitalen Anwendung und Verbreitung weiterentwickelt. Das Designstudio Dinamo, das Fonts gestaltet und vertreibt, spricht über Variable Fonts und inwieweit neue Technologien die Entwicklung von Schriften beeinflussen. Jungmyung Lee experimentiert mit Schriftgestaltung und Storytelling. Die Schriften der Jung-Lee Type Foundry erzählen Geschichten und erwecken Emotionen bei UserInnen und LeserInnen. 

10 – 12 Uhr

1

Dinamo

2

Selina Bernet

3

Massimiliano Audretsch

4

Jungmyung Lee

5

Diskussion

12 – 13 Uhr

Mittagspause mit Otto

Using and Misusing Tools

Das Panel Using and Misusing Tools untersucht das Potenzial, welches von individuell entwickelten Gestaltungswerkzeugen und -konzepten ausgeht. Mit kritischem Blick etwa analysiert die Gestalterin Ines Cox die Beziehung zwischen Design und Technologie und zeigt deren wechselseitiges Abhängigkeitsverhältnis auf. Dagegen bewegt sich die Gestalterin Anja Kaiser im aktivistischen Umfeld und legt dar, wie sie ihre Haltung gegenüber Feminismus, Geschlechterrollen und asymmetrischen Machtgefügen in ihre Arbeit einbindet. Der multidisziplinäre Gestalter Jürg Lehni überlässt den kreativen Prozess seinem Zeichenroboter Otto, der mit Kreide grossformatige Abbildungen an die Wand wirft. Der Softwareentwickler Ted Davis präsentiert unter anderem das Tool basil.js – eine Open Source Scripting Library – und zeigt, wie sich dieses auf die Arbeit von GestalterInnen auswirkt. 

​13 – 15 Uhr

1

Jürg Lehni

2

Ines Cox

3

Anja Kaiser

4

Ted Davis

5

Diskussion

​15 – 15.30 Uhr

Kaffeepause

Professional (R)evolutions

Das Berufsfeld von DesignerInnen verändert sich kontinuierlich. Technische Neuerungen, gestalterische Normen und sozio-ökonomische Veränderungen prägen den Beruf seit Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts. Der Themenblock Professional (R)evolutions diskutiert diese Entwicklung, wobei der Fokus auf den aktuellen Herausforderungen im Kontext von Digitalisierung und neuen Technologien liegt.

Das Designduo Johnson/Kingston erläutert, welche Bedeutung digitale Tools, Coding und generatives Design für die von ihnen entwickelten visuellen Konzepte haben. Passend dazu zeigt der Typedesigner und Softwareentwickler Petr van Blokland auf, mit welchen Arbeitsprozessen sich GestalterInnen in Zukunft beschäftigen werden und welche Rolle automatisierte Abläufe dabei spielen. Auch die Künstlerin Sofia Crespo sieht in technischen Werkzeugen wie zum Beispiel künstlicher Intelligenz und maschinellem Lernen für die künstlerische Praxis ein grosses Potenzial. Ihr Interesse an bio-inspirierten Technologien zeigt sich in ihrer Arbeit Neural Zoo, die sie als «eine zoologische und botanische Natursammlung, die nicht existiert» beschreibt. Johanna Siebein vom Studio Laucke Siebein spricht über die Umsetzung der von ihnen entworfenen Designkonzepte und macht deutlich, welche Regeln es zu brechen gilt, um BetrachterInnen zu neuen Sehgewohnheiten anzuregen.

​15.30 – 17 Uhr

1

Johnson/Kingston

2

Petr van Blokland

3

Sofia Crespo

4

Johanna Siebein

5

Diskussion



Tickets

Die Platzanzahl ist begrenzt. Die Tickets sind vor Ort oder online erhältlich.

Organisation / Moderation

Miriam Koban (Gestalterin und Designforscherin, Zürich) und Jonas Berthod (Gestalter, Designforscher und Dozent, London)

Partner

Syndicom – Gewerkschaft Medien und Kommunikation