Symposium

Venue

Neubad Pool, Bireggstr. 36

Date

Sun 30.9.18 / 10am – 5pm

The Weltformat Graphic Design Festival celebrates its tenth edition this year. An occasion to reflect on the past, one's own career path and the future. At the Weltformat symposium, a number of exciting designers from all over the world will give an insight into their biographies and report on milestones and turning points that have shaped them.

The symposium will be hosted by design historians Robert Lzicar (Hochschule der Künste Bern HKB) and Miriam Koban (Uni Fribourg / Hochschule der Künste Bern HKB). The talks usually last 30 to 40 minutes. They are held in German or English.

Programme

9.30am

Opening Neubad

Coffee and croissants

10am

Erich Brechbühl (Lucerne)

10.15am

Eike König (Berlin)

11am

Ghalia Elsrakbi (Cairo)

11.45am

Jiang Qian and Qu Minmin (Nanjing), Mei Shuzhi and Li Zhenghong (Hangzhou), Hou Ying (Beijing)

12.30pm

Lunch break

1.30pm

The Rodina (Amsterdam)

2.15pm

Daniela and Linda Dostálková (Prague)

3pm

Ludovic Balland (Basel)

3.45pm

Coffe break

4pm

Panel discussion

5pm

End

Erich Brechbühl

The Weltformat co-founder and director talks about the highlights of the past ten years of the Weltformat festival.

Eike König

The Berlin-based designer, artist and lecturer talks about his career and gives an insight into the work of the design collective HORT.

hort.org.uk

Ghalia Elsrakbi

The designer, who now lives in Cairo and Amsterdam, shows how she uses design as a tool to document and analyse social and political changes in the Middle East, especially in her home country Syria. Most of her projects are initiated by Elsrakbi herself. Her approach could be described as slow graphic design; Elsrakbi’s designs are preceded by intensive research – interviews, archive visits, field trips.

foundland.info

Jiang Qian, Mei Shuzhi and Li Zhenghong, Hou Ying

Jianping He is a visual designer, professor and publisher as well as curator of the exhibition Chinese Binding. He has invited five Chinese designers to present their work at the Weltformat Symposium. Jiang Qian, teacher and graphic designer, founded the studio QQQQ Design in 2015 in Nanjing together with Qu Minmin, an editor and book designer. Mei Shuzhi and Li Zhenghong, art directors from Hangzhou and founders of the studio 702design, work and experiment  in the areas of communication design, signage, branding and editorial design. Hou Ying from Beijing is an art director and founder of Inwa Design. She completed her studies at CAFA and the School of Art at Yale University in 2012 and 2014, respectively.

The Rodina

The Amsterdam-based designers originally from Czech Republic have not only broken new ground geographically but also in terms of design: the duo’s roots are in the arts.

therodina.com

Daniela and Linda Dostálková

The Prague-based sisters work as designers, artists and curators and give insights into thier work, which blurs the boundaries between individual disciplines and establishes a connection between art, design and the public.

dostalkova.com

Ludovic Balland

As a student of the Basel School, Ludovic Balland's work is still rooted in the tradition of the institution. The visual parallels to design icons such as Wolfgang Weingart are clearly visible in his design. In his lecture, Balland will provide insights into his career and his attitude towards the legacy of Swiss Style. He is the designer of this year's festival poster and shows his concept of Poster-Talks in an exhibition.

ludovic-balland.com

Panel Discussion

Miriam Koban and Robert Lzicar invite all speakers of the symposium to the following panel discussion. Is there such a thing as global movements in design or do regional differences still dominate? Which factors influence an entire style? And which ones the work of an individual designer? The hosts and guests will get to the bottom of these and many other questions.

Tickets

Buy at the Festival or online

Symposium

Ort
Datum

So. 30.9.18 / 10:00 – 17:00 Uhr

Das Weltformat Graphic Design Festival feiert dieses Jahr seine zehnte Ausgabe. Ein Anlass, um über die Vergangenheit, den eigenen Werdegang und die Zukunft nachzudenken. Am Weltformat Symposium geben eine Reihe spannender DesignerInnen aus der ganzen Welt Einblick in ihre Biografien und berichtet über Meilensteine und Wendepunkte, die sie geprägt haben.

Moderiert wird das Symposium von den DesignhistorikerInnen Robert Lzicar (Hochschule der Künste Bern HKB) und Miriam Koban (Uni Fribourg / Hochschule der Künste Bern HKB). Die Vorträge dauern in der Regel 30 bis 40 Minuten. Sie werden auf Deutsch oder Englisch gehalten.

Programm

09:30

Türöffnung Neubad

Kaffee und Gipfeli

10:00

Erich Brechbühl (Luzern)

10:15

Eike König (Berlin)

11:00

Ghalia Elsrakbi (Kairo)

11:45

Jiang Qian und Qu Minmin (Nanjing), Mei Shuzhi und Li Zhenghong (Hangzhou), Hou Ying (Peking)

12:30

Mittagspause

13:30

The Rodina (Amsterdam)

14:15

Daniela und Linda Dostálková (Prag)

15:00

Ludovic Balland (Basel)

15:45

Kaffeepause

16:00

Podiumsdiskussion mit allen Vortragenden

17:00

Abschluss

Erich Brechbühl

Der Weltformat-Mitgründer und Leiter erzählt von den Highlights der letzten zehn Jahre des Weltformat Festivals.

Eike König

Der Berliner Gestalter, Künstler und Dozent spricht über seinen Werdegang und gibt Einblick in das Schaffen seines Designkollektivs HORT.

hort.org.uk

Ghalia Elsrakbi

Ghalia Elsrakbi ist Mitgründerin des Foundland Collective, welches 2009 gegründet wurde. Die Gestalterin, die heute in Kairo und Amsterdam lebt, zeigt wie sie Design als ein Instrument nutzt, um soziale und politische Veränderungen im Mittleren Osten, speziell in ihrem Heimatland Syrien, zu dokumentieren und analysieren. Die meisten ihrer Projekte initiiert Elsrakbi selber. Ihre Herangehensweise könnte man als Slow Graphic Design bezeichnen; ihren Entwürfen geht intensive Forschung voraus – Interviews, Archivbesuche, Field Trips.

foundland.info

Jiang Qian, Mei Shuzhi und Li Zhenghong, Hou Ying

Jianping He ist visueller Gestalter, Professor und Verleger sowie Kurator der Ausstellung Chinesische Bindung. Er hat fünf chinesische Gestalter eingeladen, ihre Arbeit am Weltformat Symposium vorszustellen. Jiang Qian, Lehrer und Grafikdesigner, hat 2015 mit Qu Minmin, einem Redakteur und Buchgestalter, in Nanjing das Studio QQQQ Design gegründet. Mei Shuzhi und Li Zhenghong, beides Art Directors aus Hangzhou, arbeiten und experimentieren in ihrem Studio 702design in den Bereichen Kommunikationsdesign, Leitsysteme, Branding und Editorial Design. Hou Ying aus Peking ist Art Director und Gründerin von Inwa Design. Sie schloss ihre Studien an der CAFA und der School of Art an der Yale University 2012, respektive 2014 ab.

The Rodina

Die gebürtigen Tschechen und in Amsterdam lebenden Gestalter haben nicht nur geografisch neue Wege eingeschlagen sondern auch gestalterisch: ihre Ursprünge haben die Designer in der Kunst.

therodina.com

Daniela und Linda Dostálková

Die Prager Schwestern sind Gestalterinnen, Künstlerinnen und Kuratorinnen. Sie geben Einblicke in ihre Arbeit, welche die Grenzen zwischen den Disziplinen verwischt und eine Verbindung zwischen Kunst, Design und dem Publikum herstellt. 

dostalkova.com

Ludovic Balland

Als ein bekennender Zögling der Basler Schule steht Ludovic Ballands Arbeit immer noch in der Tradition der Institution. Die visuellen Parallelen zu Designikonen wie Wolfgang Weingart sind in seiner Gestaltung deutlich sichtbar. Im Vortrag gewährt er Einblicke in seinen persönlichen Werdegang und seine Haltung zum Erbe des Swiss Style. Balland ist der Gestalter des diesjährigen Festivalplakats und zeigt sein Konzept Poster-Talks in einer Ausstellung.

ludovic-balland.com

Podiumsdiskussion

Miriam Koban und Robert Lzicar laden alle Redner des Symposiums zur anschliessenden Podiumsdiskussion. Gibt es so etwas wie globale Bewegungen in der Gestaltung oder dominieren noch immer regionale Unterschiede? Welche Faktoren beeinflussen einen ganzen Stil? Und welche die Arbeit eines einzelnen Gestalters? Diesen und vielen weiteren Fragen gehen die ModeratorInnen und Gäste auf den Grund.

Tickets

Vor Ort oder online kaufen